Embracing January

I really do not like the month of January. It is generally cold; you go to work in the dark and
come home in the dark. The realities of the year ahead come on in full force
after a reprieve over the holidays.

Today as I finished my work out, I started reflecting on why I don’t embrace
January. 

The fresh new start to a new year, the beauty of the cold winter air, a look
forward to the what is to come….maybe it is a bit uncomfortable.

Alopecia is like January. It can feel depressing, dark and cold, and really hit you as your
reality. You don’t know what is to come, how you will navigate it and how
others around you will react to it but there is a uniqueness to it. 

January has that uniqueness. That fresh start for the year ahead, the
excitement of what is to come and how you can shape it. Embracing this makes it
much easier to feel like you own it. Having alopecia, I have worked
hard on embracing it and recognizing that is about my unique self. Don’t get me
wrong, not every day I am embracing it with open arms nor I am embracing -40
degrees Celsius but I can now appreciate it for the uniqueness it offers. Just like January. 

As you go through your Alopecia journey, find some time to reflect and
connect with your unique self. Embrace it!

One thought on “Embracing January

  1. beautifully said Shannon and your words are so true! No matter what challenges life throws our way, we are unique and we do have the power to decide how we will deal with it! that is where the magic of our authentic selves lives!

Leave a comment